Agent Carter Patterns and Musing

 

 

Despite the businesses of the two big projects I want to finish, my muse to cosplay Agent Carter has struck and I sort of want to attempt one of her looks in time for Comic Con in April. This morning I felt ambitious enough for the iconic blue suit and hat (I still don’t know how I was going to get the hat as my budget probably won’t be for the stenson use on the show) However, a while back I started a mock up for the season 2 Finale dress that was going pretty well if I could work out the size. I’m playing with patterns this morning and I thought I might share what I know and don’t know.

I know the pattern on the right nails the look fairly well as it’s an actual 1940s suit but I don’t have that pattern because it was hard to visualize it as flattering on my body.  I instead picked out Simplicity 1421 because the princess seam was more obvious so it was more my kind of tailoring. However then I opened it and it’s one of those crazy patterns that wants your cup size and I don’t know if that’s going to be the wisest choice for a back burner project for comic con….

Now I’m thinking something more sensibly and going to back to a mock up I started in I believe May and though I have no pictures, it was very successful. I started with modifying view A by cutting out the triangles, finished them in bias tape and then using a strip of fabric I could sew in a collar that would hide my edges, the skirt pattern I used on my thrown together Agent Carter cosplay to meet Hailey in, it’s easy as skirts are and I love the shape.

Peggy’s probably my favorite Marvel character, maybe even favorite character. So I take dressing up as her very seriously. I’ve already done her twice as I consider “half way” and now I want to go the whole 1940s specified- beautifully tailored- 9 yards.So these musing could be a cosplay by April or maybe I’ll start again in April when some parts of life has slowed down…

Author: punzziellasewingcreation

Sewing and cosplay enthusiast. Caffeine addict and all around Nerd. These are the projects of Punzziella.

Leave a Reply

